Skip to main content

Do you have the points to immigrate to Australia?

By March 28, 2017October 3rd,

Do you have the points to immigrate to Australia?

March 28, 2017

Australia is one of the top destinations for South African expats and expats all over the world, who are drawn to its wonderful weather and open spaces. But before you start packing your bags for its sunny shores, you need to work out whether you qualify for the points that make you eligible for an Australian visa.

What you need to know about the Australian Skilled Occupations List

Needed skills score the highest points

Australia is very fair in its points allocation and doesn’t necessary award high points to professions that require extensive studying like doctors and accountants. Instead, it looks at what the country needs and piles points on those professions that are in short supply. In this way The Department of Immigration and Border Protection ensure that those people who are awarded visas will truly add value to Australia.

How many points do you need?

To get an Australian visa, a person generally needs to score at least 60 points and there are various categories that determine how many points you are awarded. Added to the points you’re eligible for, you also need to demonstrate your skills and experience meet a strict set of criteria.

The number of points you can claim depends on whether your job falls on Australia’s Skilled Occupations List (SOL). If this is the case, you have the option to apply for one of the superior visas – a Skilled Independent Visa. If you only have enough points to qualify for a Skilled Regional (Provisional) Visa, your entry into Australia will need to be sponsored by a relative or the state government.

Qualifications which award you points

If you have a doctorate degree, you can earn 20 points, a Bachelor’s degree will get you 15 points and a successful authorised skills assessment in a recognised qualification will earn you 10 points.

The younger you are the better

To be eligible to apply, you need to be under the age of 50. The ages that are awarded the most points are between 25 and 32, which is awarded 30 points. 18-24-year-olds and 33-39-year-olds receive 25 points and anyone between the ages of 40 and 44 receives 15 points. If you fall between the ages of 45 and 49, you’ll receive no points.

Preference is given to English speakers

If your grasp of English is superior, you will receive 20 points, if it is proficient, you will be awarded 10 points and if you are merely competent, you will receive no points. If you English language ability falls below competent, your application will not be approved.

Top skills needed in 2017

Some of the skills heading the new Australian Skilled Occupations List for 2017 include:

  • Construction Project Manager
  • Project Builder
  • Engineering Manager
  • Production Manager (Mining)
  • Child Care Centre Manager
  • Medical Administrator
  • Nursing Clinical Director
  • Primary Health Organisation Manger
  • Welfare Centre Manager
  • Accountant (General)
If you’re planning on immigrating to Australia or any other country and need financial advice, contact us today and we’ll help you on the path to financial freedom in your new home.
[contact-form-7 id=”6581″ title=”Blog post (call me)”]

Leave a Reply